A one-ingredient deodorant that is so effective

The one-ingredient deodorant I am going to share is not even a DIY. It is very simple and effective.

hqdefault

But before that,

Can antiperspirants really cause cancer or Alzheimer’s? Or, to be more exact, can aluminum be absorbed in the skin so as to cause cancer or Alzheimer’s?

From the scientific perspective, the answer is no. There is no conclusive research that clearly link aluminum intake through deodorants and diseases.

From most supporters of Alternative (or Holistic) medicine, the answer is yes.

Well I am not for or against either of those, because I know most medical research is not possible unless you have a big sponsor (if you are curious go and check out what happened to the author of Pure, White and Deadly), and the Internet offers so many alternative medicine solutions by unauthorized people, it is unsafe to trust either sources of knowledge. So it is like a Russian roulette.

But I know for one I am allergic to most commercial skincare, especially because of the artificial colorants and aroma.

Thinking about the risks, I tried to stay away from it, and I’ve had some unpleasant experiences. Well I tried crystal deodorants, dermo-cosmetics, and some commercial spray or stick deodorants but the result was the same. They did not prevent the smell. They made it horrible actually and I sometimes felt really ashamed in public. If I had left my underarms alone it could have been better, at least the odor would be more authentic!

So my friend told me one day she just uses lemon, she rubs it on her underarms and she is fine all day. I haven’t tried it but I found just two drops of lemon essential oil very, very effective. I’ve been using it for over a month now, and no unpleasant odor whatsoever! It hasn’t caused any irritation either (and I am super sensitive). It’s much more practical to carry and apply than the actual lemon, and ridiculously frugal. You just use a couple of drops per day.

So, one is tested by my friend for years, the other is tested by me for a month. The trick is the lemon is antibacterial and it deals with the odor-causing bacteria. You can try both, it’s very cheap anyway, and if you don’t like it, there are tons of other ways to use lemon EO.

And whether or not antiperspirant runs a health risk, it is smart to switch to a deodorant that is more simple and natural, one that is produced locally and whose bottle can be easily recycled or reused. And it might be worth trying to use other EOs you have at home. They may work wonders 🙂

2 thoughts on “A one-ingredient deodorant that is so effective

Leave a Reply

